Most Successful MotoGP Riders in History

Grand Prix motorcycle racing, also known as MotoGP, is the premier class of professional motorcycle racing. Sanctioned by the Fédération Internationale de Motocyclisme (FIM), the racing event attracts the best riders globally. This article shares the most successful MotoGP riders in the history of the competition, which was inaugurated in 1949.

1. Valentino Rossi

An Italian MotoGP maestro, Valentino Rossi, is the most successful MotoGP racer of all time. He also holds the record for being the only racer to compete in more than 400 Grand Prix events. The 41-year old boasts 7 Grand Prix World Championships, which he won in 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2008, and 2009. Currently (2020), at Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP, the Italian has also featured in MotoGP for Honda and Ducati. Just recently, he announced that in 2021, he would be riding for Petronas Yamaha Racing Team. In his prolific MotoGP career, Rossi has 353 starts, 89 wins, 199 podiums, 55 poles, and 5367 points cumulatively.

2. Giacomo Agostini

Nicknamed Ago, Giacomo Agostini is the second most successful MotoGP rider in the history of the competition. The Italian champion boasts 8 world titles in 1966, 1967, 1968, 1969, 1970, 1971, 1972, and 1975. In his 13-year MotoGP career, he was part of MV Agusta, Yamaha, and Suzuki. Named an FIM legend in 2010, the 78-year old also had a successful Isle of Man TT career and featured in Daytona and Formula 1 Grand Prix. In MotoGP, Ago has 223 starts, 122 wins, 159 podiums, and 9 poles. Cumulatively, he has 1577 points.

3. Marc Marquez

Third on the list is Spanish rider Marc Marquez, nicknamed the ‘Ant of Cervera.’ The 27-year old has had a successful MotoGP career, bagging 6 Grand Prix World Championships in 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018, and 2019. He made his MotoGP debut in 2013, and since then, he has stuck with Repsol Honda Team. So far in MotoGP, he has 128 starts, 56 wins, 95 podiums, 62 poles, and 2275 points cumulatively. Marquez is among the four riders to clinch world championships in three different categories.

Other Worthy Mentions

The above are the best racers in the history of MotoGP. Other worthy mentions include John Surtees (4 Titles: 1956, 1958, 1959, 1960), Eddie Lawson (4 Titles: 1984, 1986, 1988, 1989), Kenny Roberts (3 Titles: 1978, 1979, 1980), Casey Stoner (2 Titles: 2007, 2011), and Jorge Lorenzo (3 Titles: 2010, 2012, 2015).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *